Posted by: Craig | April 24, 2008

Welcome

about-the-fidelio 

What’s this all about?

I was last at sea ten years ago, before integrated bridge systems, satellite communications, broadband and (for me) mobile phones. I was a second officer, with most experience on crude, product and LNG tankers, although I did gain some valuable experience on offshore support vessels, short sea coast ro-ro vessels and feeder boxships.

Incidentally my first vessel was Shell’s last ever midships accommodation tanker, SS Serenia, built at the same yard as the QE11.

 

The MV Fidelio is one of the newer types of large car/truck carriers in operation for the logistics company Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics. The 30,137 dwt vessel is owned by Wallenius Lines and is manned with about 23 Swedish and Filipino seafarers. It sails a regular route between Europe and Japan carrying a mixture of cars and what are called high and heavy cargoes such as tractors, mining equipment and lorries.

I asked Wallenius Marine if I could travel onboard the vessel to compare life onboard today with that of a decade ago. I want to now how technology makes the vessel work, how port operations are run and how the crews live.

 

Categories

